Upcoming Events



In partnership with the Illinois Department of Public Health and the Chicago Department of Public Health, the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) is offering a complimentary webinar presented by Dawn Tomac, BSN, RN, CIC. Participants will receive 1 CNE.

TopicHigh-Level Disinfection: Assessment of Compliance. This webinar will cover the levels of classification for medical devices, which include the three categories: critical, semi-critical and noncritical and list types of devices that are classified as semi-critical. The webinar will also exhibit the types of process indicators for various type of devices or methods of high-level disinfection. The information will include documentation requirements for these indicators and how to assess if the process is being documented. In addition, the webinar will review the steps to reprocessing devices classified as semi-critical. It will focus on the assessment or tracer component of assessing compliance in the facility.


  • Identify via the spaulding classification items that require high-level disinfection
  • Determine process indicators and documentation for high-level disinfection
  • Establish steps to process from decontamination to transport and storage considerations for maintaining a device that is high-level disinfected


Date: Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Time: (60 minutes) 12:00 p.m. CDT (1:00 p.m. EDT, 11:00 a.m. MDT, 10:00 a.m. PDT)
Registration: http://webinars.apic.org/session.php?id=18964 (Please register for participation in live or archived webinar. The webinar will be available through 02/27/2019).

About APIC: APIC’s mission is to create a safer world through prevention of infection. The association’s more than 15,000 members direct infection prevention programs that save lives and improve the bottom line for hospitals and other healthcare facilities. APIC advances its mission through patient safety, implementation science, competencies and certification, advocacy, and data standardization. Visit APIC online at www.apic.org.

APIC is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

This program is sponsored by the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) and Chicago Department of Public Health (CDPH) and made possible through funding from a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).